Skip to content

AROUND NUNAVUT: Eva Aariak invested to Order of Canada, Paula Ikuutaq Rumbolt shortlisted for book prize, active Iqalungmiut rewarded by city

Aariak, Kamookak invested to Order of Canada


Governor General Julie Payette invested former Nunavut premier Eva Aariak as a Member of the Order of Canada May 8 at Rideau Hall in Ottawa.

Governor General Julie Payette invested former Nunavut premier Eva Aariak as a Member of the Order of Canada May 8 at Rideau Hall in Ottawa.
photo courtesy Sgt. Johanie Maheu, Rideau Hall

"Eva Aariak has dedicated her life to promoting Inuit culture and languages. She was Nunavut’s inaugural language commissioner and made recommendations to the Nunavut legislative assembly that resulted in a ground-breaking law, the Inuit Language Protection Act," according to a Rideau Hall news release.

"As the second territorial premier in Nunavut's history – and the first woman to serve in the role – she has worked tirelessly on Nunavut’s poverty reduction strategy, among other notable projects. A renowned leader in northern Canada, she has successfully advocated for equity, gender equality and the involvement of women in politics."

The late Gjoa Haven historian Louie Kamookak, was posthumously invested as an Officer of the Order for his patience and dedication in capturing the stories of the elders in his community.

"His attentive listening and capable mapping skills led him across the tundra of King William Island and along the shores of Victoria Strait to discover several historical sites, most notably the shipwrecks of the Franklin Expedition. When not accompanying students, teachers and explorers in the Arctic, he shared the stories of his people with audiences from coast to coast to coast," according to the release.

Kamookak was previously invested as a Member. Kamookak's wife, Josephine Kamookak, accepted the insignia.

The Order of Canada is one of the highest civilian honours in this country. Companions, Officers and Members take to heart the motto of the Order: Desiderantes meliorem patriam – They desire a better country.


Baker Lake children's author up for award

Qamanittuaq/Baker Lake 

The Origin of Day and Night by Baker Lake's Paula Ikuutaq Rumbolt and illustrated by Lenny Lishchenko is shortlisted for the Ontario Arts Council's 2019 Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children's Book Awards in the picture book category.
photo courtesy Inhabit Media

Children's book author Paula Ikuutaq Rumbolt is shortlisted for the 2019 Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Awards in the picture book category for The Origin of Day and Night.

The illustrator is Lenny Lishchenko.

The Ontario Arts Council made the announcement May 7.

The $6,000 award is presented annually to recognize artistic excellence in writing and illustration in English-language Canadian children's literature.

The Origin of Day and Night tells how a "hare and fox change the Arctic forever by creating day and night," publisher Inhabit Media stated in a news release.

"In very early times, there was no night or day and words spoken by chance could become real. When a hare and a fox meet and express their longing for light and darkness, their words are too powerful to be denied."

The winner is selected by young readers, five students in Grades 3 and 4 at Eastview Public School in Scarborough, Ont. The school has a large Indigenous community, and offers Ojibwa language instruction and other Indigenous programming.

Rumbolt is from Baker Lake, and is also co-founder, with Nooks Lindell and Emma Kreuger, of Hinaani Design.

Her previous book, The Legend of Thunder and Lightning, was shortlisted for the 2014 CLA Book of the Year for Children Award.

The winners of 2019 Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children's Book Awards will be announced during an Eastview school assembly in June.


Iqaluit Aquatic Centre announces healthy winners


The City Of Iqaluit has announced the winners of its 20 km contest, launched in honour of Nunavut's 20th anniversary.

Participants needed only to run, swim or row 20 km at the Iqaluit Aquatic Centre in April.

Wei Zeng, left, Sherri Young and Shunxin Zhang hold their Aquatic Centre prizes as three of the Nunavut 20 Challenge winners. Each participant had to swim, run or row 20 kilometres in order to be eligible to win.
photo courtesy City of Iqaluit

The winners include: Noah Ejesiak, Febbie Ncube, Tyler Macintyre, Lily Zhang, Mark Rogulski, Gregory Connors, Krista Thompson, Mike Harttrup, Patricia McNeil, Gillian Bourke, Nikki Nweze, Troy Rhoades, Janine Budgell, Christina Mortensen, Shunxin Zhang, Sean Clark, Sarah Vaughan, Joanne Clark, Natalie Hanczak and Victoria Ralph.

The winners were drawn at random, and received a one-month pass to the centre.

An additional four prizes of one-month passes and a massage were awarded to Tina Nyela for the furthest run/row at 304.65 km, Sherri Young for furthest swim at 21.25 km, Kearon Nyandoro for most consistent run/row with 22 visits to the centre and Wei Zang for most consistent swim with 21 visits to the centre.

The Iqaluit Breakers Swim Team, which also participated in April, collectively swam 200.6 km in the pool, with four of the members completing 20 km.

Pop-up banner image