Skip to content

Simeonie Akpalialuk named new chair of QEC board

Simeonie Akpalialuk has been chosen as chairperson of Qulliq Energy Corporation's board of directors and Keith Peterson will serve as vice-chair, QEC announced Thursday.

Akpalialuk, who lives in Iqaluit, has served as a consultant for the Hamlet of Pangnirtung and the Government of Nunavut Department of Economic Development and Transportation. He has worked on community and business development during his career. His long-lived passion for alternative energy makes him a valuable member of the QEC board, states a Qulliq Energy press release.

Peterson, a former GN finance, justice and health minister, was once responsible for overseeing QEC while a member of cabinet. A longtime resident of Cambridge Bay and a past mayor of the community, Peterson is a new addition to the Qulliq Energy board.

Andrew Nakashuk and Martha Lenio are also new appointments as directors. The additions bring the total number of board members up to eight.

The new directors will serve three-year terms while the chair and vice-chair appointments are in effect until May 2020.

Outgoing directors are Bert Rose, Ronnie Campbell, Nelson Pisco, and Philip Clark. Cabinet also approved the resignation of board director Juanie Pudluk who was appointed in October 2018, and formally resigned in July 2019.