Candidates for the Oct. 25 territorial election are in place with the deadline to declare having passed on Friday afternoon.

Five incumbents are facing no challengers and will therefore continue to represent their constituencies by acclimation: Joe Savikataaq, Margaret Nakashuk, John Main, David Akeeagok and David Joanasie.

The following individuals have filed to be candidates, according to Elections Nunavut:

Aggu: Methusalah Kunuk and Joanna Quassa

Aivilik: Solomon Malliki, Johnny Nineongan, Pattrek Nester, Helena Malliki and Lucassie Nakoolak

Amittuq: Joelie Kaernerk and Solomon Allurut

Arviat North-Whale Cove: John Main

Arviat South: Joe Savikataaq

Baker Lake: Craig Simailak, Daniel Piryuaq and Elijah Amarook

Cambridge Bay: Peter Ohokak, Pamela Gross and Jeannie Ehaloak

Gjoa Haven: Paul Puqiqnak, Allen Aglukkaq, Tony Akoak, Gregory Nahaglulik and Veronica Ullulaq

Hudson Bay: Daniel Qavvik, Mick Appaqaq and Ronald Ladd

Iqaluit-Manirajak: Adam Lightstone and Joanasie Akumalik

Iqaluit-Niaqunnguu: P.J. Akeeagok, Noah Papatsie and Dinos Tikivik

Iqaluit-Sinaa: Christa Kunuk, Janet Brewster and Jeff Maurice

Iqaluit-Tasiluk: George Hickes, Jonathan Park, Michael Solomonie and James Arreak

Kugluktuk: Bobby Anavilok, Calvin Pedersen, Angele Kuliktana and Genevieve Nivingalok

Netsilik: Simon Qingnaqtuq, Emiliano Qirngnuq and Inagayuk Quqqiaq

Pangnirtung: Margaret Nakashuk

Quttiktuq: David Akeeagok

Rankin Inlet North-Chesterfield Inlet: Cathy Towtongie, Alexander Sammurtok and Albert Aokaut

Rankin Inlet South: Lorne Kusugak, Bobby Oolooyuk and Tagak Curley

South Baffin: David Joanasie

Tununiq: David Qamaniq, Joshua Arreak and Karen Nutarak

Uqqummiut: Mary Killiktee and Sheila Enook

People in Nunavut can vote if they are:

-A Canadian citizen

-Eighteen years of age or older

-Has been a Nunavut resident for at least one year, and has not been disqualified from voting

-Nunavummiut who have been away from the territory temporarily (prison, students, rotational and medical patients) can also vote.

Nunavummiut can also only vote in the constituency they live in — to be added to the voters list, show up at your polling place on election with the proper indentification or complete your registration online using the Elections Nunavut registration portal.

For more information, people can visit the Elections Nunavut website.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *