Skip to content

Karliin Aariak appointed to five-year term as Nunavut’s languages commissioner

Karliin Aariak, who was named acting languages commissioner in October, has now been officially selected to serve a five-year term in the role.

Karliin Aariak of Iqaluit has officially been named Nunavut’s Languages Commissioner after serving as acting commissioner for the past few months.
photo courtesy of Karliin Aariak

A former investigations officer for the Office of the Languages Commissioner of Nunavut and  terminologist and acting executive director for the Inuit Uqausinginnik Taiguusiliuqtiit (Inuit Language Authority), Aariak “has a strong record of advocacy for language rights,” stated Simeon Mikkungwak, Speaker of the legislative assembly, in a Monday news release.

The Management and Services Board undertook a competitive selection process for the position, and the members of the legislative assembly will confirm the appointment when the winter sitting begins on Feb. 18.

Aariak, a graduate of Nunavut Arctic College, took over as languages commissioner after Kugluktuk’s Helen Klengenberg resigned for personal reasons.