Skip to content

Nivingalok earns second term as Kugluktuk mayor

Ryan Nivingalok will continue to serve as Kugluktuk's mayor after receiving a convincing 174 votes in Monday's hamlet election compared to 93 for challenger Valerie Miyok and 16 for Phillip Evaglok.

Ryan Nivingalok: returns as mayor of Kugluktuk

Nivingalok couldn't immediately be reached for comment but he previously told Nunavut News that a 24-hour long-term care centre for the community is a project that he wants to complete. He added that job creation is another priority.

Miranda Atatahak was the leading vote-getter among the candidates for council with 263 supporters. Larry Adjun (236), Nadene McMenemy (202) and Danny Zita (170) also secured council seats. Douglas Klengenberg (108) and Robert Pihoak Ayalik (87) fell short.

Atatahak said she was flattered by the level of support.

"I'm a little bit speechless right now," she said on Tuesday morning. "I'm very honoured that people would trust in me with their vote."

Atatahak filled a one-year appointment on the previous council, allowing her to "learn the ropes," but this marks her first time being elected to a full term.

"Hamlet council does a lot of good work in the community," she said. "Being able to share and address the issues of our community is part of the reason why I decided to put my name back in."