Qaggiavuut Nunavut Performing Arts has announced Pitseolak Pfeifer as its new executive director.

Pitseolak Pfeifer is Qaggiavuut’s new executive director.
photos courtesy of Qaggiavuut

Pfeifer replaces Ellen Hamilton, the non-profit society’s founding executive director. Pfeifer takes over following months of succession planning that began in January and involved a reorganization of the society, according to a Qaggiavuut news release issued Tuesday.

Born and raised in Iqaluit, Pfeifer has a background in management and academic research with a focus on Inuit values.

Also assuming a new role with the organization is Terrie Kusugak, who was elected chair of the board at the recent annual general meeting. Joining Kusugak on the board are vice-chairperson Christine Tootoo, secretary-treasurer Omanola Djalogue, Derek Elias, Nobe Khumalo, Pallulaaq Friesen and youth representative Mia Autut.

Terrie Kusugak was elected chair of Qaggiavuut’s board of directors.

Other senior directors at Qaggiavuut include artistic director Laakkuluk Williamson Bathory, Qaggiq Hub director Sim Kisa-Knickelbein and director of the Qaggiq School of Performing Arts, Ashley Kilabuk-Savard.

Qaggiavuut advocates for Nunavut’s performing artists with a focus on Inuit. The society has been lobbying for a performance arts centre in the territory. It also operates the Qaggiq School of Performing Arts.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *